Ranting and Raving

1090000-clipart-curvy-womans-body-in-a-green-polka-dot-bikini-and-a-tape-measure-around-her-waist-royalty-free-vector-illustration

Ladies, don’t you love how Hollywood has shaped their idea of the “ideal woman.” She has this itty bitty tiny waist, with big boobs and an extremely large backside. She has perfect skin, a flawless face and a matching complexion. She’s every man’s dream. She’s what’s in style. She’s a trendsetter. She’s perfect. They think once the pack her full of Botox and all sorts of plastic surgery, they have a masterpiece. Wrong! they have a recipe for disaster. There is no such thing as a perfect woman. This is my little temper tantrum over how frustrated I am that the media praises and glorify these types of women.

Let’s face it. All women are not built the same. You have some skinny, you have some  big, and then you have the some in between. We can’t help how we are shaped. We can’t help that some of our childhood fat didn’t go in all the right places. But, that doesn’t give the media the right to demean women in the manner that they do. I’m a curvy woman. I’m one of the fortunate ones whose childhood fat did indeed go in all the wrong places. However, I’m don’t have a flat stomach. I have a little pudge, but I embrace my pudge. I know I give tips and advice on how to stay healthy, but please don’t expect me to give you tips on how to lose weight. I’m not here for that. I give tips because this is my journey. These are some of the things I’ve experienced in trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle. If you are looking for tips on how to lose weight, go to a gym or a dietitian. Maintaining a healthy lifestyle isn’t all about losing weight. If you lose weight in the process, great. If not, that’s alright. We have to learn to be comfortable in our own skin. We can’t let Hollywood define who we should be.

Part of the reason the media portrays women in this light is because they are catering only to one audience which is men. But, if we come out of Hollywood and get into the real world, what are the chances of a man running into a woman who looks like Kim Kardashian or Amber Rose? That’s highly unlikely, and if they look anything like these women, they were truly blessed or have had a lot of surgery done. But, this is not the definition of self love. This is the definition of self hate. Some people may not agree with me on this, but ask yourself, what’s the reason you want a butt like Kim K. or breast like Blac Chyna. The answer is simple, you aren’t satisfied with the butt or breast you have. If you were, you would embrace your imperfections and make them apart of who you are.

Some people think losing weight is a form of self hate. I disagree with this. I feel if you want to lose weight, do it because you want to. Do it because it’s something you truly want to do. Don’t lose weight to follow a trend or to appeal to men. This is what makes losing weight a form of self hate. You can be sexy and confident at the size you are. If you are a size 2 or a size 22 you can be sexy the way you are. I get that you may want to lose weight to fit into those jeans from high school or be able to wear that fitted dress from your prom, I get that. That’s a motivation to lose weight. If you are losing weight to try and follow a trend, ask the people you are following what their reasoning is behind losing weight. Then ask yourself what’s your reasoning for losing weight. If you don’t have one, then you losing weight shouldn’t be your goal. For instance, I want to lose weight, because it’s something I want to do. This is a long term goal for me. I know that my weight loss journey isn’t going to be easy, and I’m going to share some of my challenges and give tips and advice on how I overcame those challenges. At the same time, I’m embracing who I am now. I’m not saying I’m comfortable, I’m just acknowledging the fact that I’m not where I want to be right now, so until I get there, I’m going to love who I am now.

So ladies, next time you see  woman on television with an hourglass figure, don’t get discouraged. Embrace you unique beauty. Get confident, and rock your curves. Stop letting Hollywood define who we should be, and be who we want to be.

 

1384143-clipart-of-a-sketched-blond-white-woman-wearing-a-pink-dress-a-measuring-tape-circling-her-waist-royalty-free-vector-illustration

#completepositiveenergy  #everydayinspiration

Leave a Reply

