Sin vs. Sin

on

whatissin

So this week me and my daughter have been attending Vacation Bible School at church. I must say I have really been enjoying myself, especially since I haven’t been to VBS since I was my daughter’s age. She enjoys it as well, especially since they give out prizes and have little fun activities to do. Around 6:45 or so, they would split us up in to classes according to the age group. My daughter goes with the 9-11 year old age group, and I stay in the sanctuary with the adults. The speaker for the night creates a worksheet for us to answer questions and follow along. When I received mine, I happened to looked down and noticed the main topic was about sin. This caught my attention, so I listened intently.

Just to be blunt for a little minute, I know some of the people who will read this will probably feel some type of way, and that’s quite alright. I know there are a lot of people who don’t believe in Christ, or think that Jesus and God are one in the same, or maybe think they are just metaphors. That’s quite alright too. Everyone is entitled to their own belief, and I believe in Christ Jesus. I’m not here to enforce my religion on anyone or here to offend anyone. This is just my belief and take on how I interpret things I learn in church. Most people would rather ignore or avoid the topic of religion as some people feel it’s a touchy subject. Granted there are some people who will try to force their religion on you and try and make you conform to their way of life. I’m here to tell you, that isn’t me. I can’t make you conform to anything, nor can I change your beliefs and opinions. I may motivate you to think and ponder on some things I may say, and that’s good enough for me. At least I got you to consider my point of view. Even if you don’t agree with it, you at least considered it.

Back to the topic at hand, there are too many people in the world walking prioritizing sin. They look at one person’s problems, and think that because they aren’t having those problems they can judge that person. They can talk bad about/to them. I’m here to tell you, you are sadly mistaken if you think God prioritizes sin. If you really take the time out to define the word sin, you will note that it is an immoral act against a divine law. Divine law. This means a law of God. While you can’t physically go to jail for commiting a sin (depending on that sin), you can however be placed on spiritual punishment. Let’s think back to the bible days; the first laws created were the ten commandments. There were ten laws, only ten laws the Hebrews had to abide by. Now, if we take that even further back, Adam and Eve only had one law. Don’t not eat from the fruit of the tree in the Garden of Eden. God said they could eat from any other tree, except the tree in the middle. This was one law, one law. If Adam and Eve couldn’t abide by one law, and the Hebrews couldn’t abide by ten, what makes you think you are living so holier than thou that you can do no wrong? 

Sin is all around us. It’s in our homes, jobs, even at church. You can’t escape sin. There’s an old saying, there is no one sin greater than the next. That saying is absolutely true. Whether most of us want to admit it or not, we have all committed a sin. Heck, some are probably living in it right now. The problem is people have become so judgemental and critical of others, that we fail to see our own problems, because we are too busy judging other peoples problems. For instance, a lot of us grew up to shun away from homosexuality. We were taught this was an abomination to God. But, does that give you the right to judge them? No, because in God’s eye we are all his children. God also said thou shalt not commit adultery, but that seems to be a pretty common trend these days. People think it’s cool to cheat. Heck, people and the media practically glorify it. But does that mean his homosexualty has a higher priority than her adultery? No, they all weigh the same. God said the wages of sin is death. He didn’t say the wages of the higher priority sin in death, he said the wages of your sin. Which means any sin you commit, whether it’s murder, theft, baring false witness, even idolizing another God. The wages of those sins are death, meaning you are going to pay with your life. This is why it’s so much death in the world. I’m not saying everyone who is dead was or were living in sin, I’m saying this is the reason behind it. God has a plan for everyone. We never know when we are going to leave this earth, but why increase your chances of leaving sooner by living in sin. Living in his way and in his will can surely guarantee your longevity. When you stop believing, you increase your chances of death.

So the next time you decide to judge Larry for sleeping with Joe, ask yourself is your life in order? Before I can turn my nose up or look down upon Mike who is sleeping with Kisha behind his wife’s back, what wrongdoing am I commiting against the law of God. Where does my life come into play?

#completepositiveenergy

sin-powerpoint-2-638

Leave a Reply

