Dragon Fruit, The Scary Fruit

on

So this weekend while I was at the grocery store buying things to cook for breakfast, I went over to the produce aisle to get some fruit for a fruit medley to go along with breakfast. As I was scoping out the fruit trying to find the more ripe ones, I come across this funny looking fruit. The skin of the fruit is what caught my attention. I picked it up and read the label, and it said Dragon Fruit. Now, I had heard of this fruit before some beverages. I figured since I had drunk it mixed in with other fruit juices, what the heck. I bought one. I thought it was going to be real sweet, since it’s rich in it’s red (looks pink to me) color. To my surprise it was tasteless. It had no taste. For some reason, that was alright for me. I at half of it and my daughter at the other half. I decided to sit down and do some research on this funny looking fruit. I was really surprised with the large amount of nutritious benefits it has on the body.

For starters, this superfood contains polyunsaturated fats. This is the good fats your body needs for muscle protection. The seed of the dragon fruit is where these fats are stored. They lower the triglycerides and reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease.

Secondly they contain 10 percent of the daily recommended dose of Vitamin C. It also has only 60 calories per serving.

Dargon fruit is especially beneficial to men because the skin of the fruit contains Lycopene. This is essential for reducing the risk of prostate cancer.

This funny looking fruit is rich in antioxidants, calcium, iron and phosphorus. All essential nutrients and minerals for producing healthy immune systems, blood flow and strong bones and teeth.

Fun Fact: Dragon Fruit is also known as the “moon flower” as it only blooms from evening to midnight. It only blooms once and is withered by the harsh rays of sunlight.

So the next time you’re in your local grocery story and see this fiery looking fruit, don’t be afraid of it. It won’t eat you. Try it. It has many uses and is very versatile.

For skin problems: Take the pulp of the fruit and mix it with plain yogurt. Rub the paste on your face for about 20 minutes and rinse well with lukewarm water. Yogurt contains good bacteria that eat away at bad bacteria. It mixes with the protien keratin which is needed for beautiful hair, skin and nails.

For beautiful hair: Take the pulp of the fruit and rub it in your hair. Leave it sit for about 20 minutes, then wash with a mild shampoo.

 

Leave a Reply

