Do Unto Others

This morning as I was getting me and my daughter dressed, I overheard a story on the news this morning about four kids who kidnapped, tortured, and beat up a mentally disabled man. When I first heard about the story, I quickly rushed to the shower. The news was showing clips of the video that these kids recorded and uploaded to Facebook. I immediately felt my stomach turn. The whole time I was in the shower, I kept thinking about it. The more I thought about it, the angrier I became. I mean seriously, what on earth would possess a person to beat up on another person in such a way, especially a mentally disabled one. Of all the things a person can think of to do, they chose that?

In most cases, people would say you don’t belittle another person based on their actions or beliefs, and for the most part, I agree. But, when situations like this arise, it’s very hard to stand up to that moral. These four individuals are the embodiment of a derogatory term. I’m usually the one who tries to find a rationale for most of the things people do these days, but, this one has no rationale. There is no excuse for this type of behavior.

When people behave in this manner, it makes me wonder what on earth was going through their minds. Did they ever stop to think that what if this was their family member or loved one? Heck, what if it was them? How would they feel? What would they do? I guess for these degenerates, these logical questions didn’t cross their minds. It really angers me that people can commit such heinous acts against another human being, a disabled one for that matter.

I’m a firm believer in do unto others as you would have them do unto you. I also mean that literally as well. They were charged with a hate crime (as they should be) which is punishable by death. If I was the prosecutor in this case, I’d want them to receive the same type of treatment they dished out to this young man.

There is a video, however, I’m not going to post it on my site because I don’t condone that kind of behavior and am not up for media glorification of such deplorable behavior. Below is the link to the article if you aren’t aware of what’s going on.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2017/01/05/4-in-custody-after-group-beats-disabled-man-on-facebook-live-while-shouting-anti-trump-profanities-chicago-police-say/?utm_term=.3d9938e07a23

 

Leave a Reply

